Review: Once Broken Faith (October Daye #10) by Seanan McGuire

28815482

You know you are reading a great urban fantasy series when it’s book ten and you immediately look at Amazon and Goodreads to find out when book eleven is being released.  When I started reading this series, I thought it was okay.  Slowly, over these last ten novels, it has become one of, if not, my favorite urban fantasy series.

What makes it special?  McGuire tells a good story but it’s the characters who keep me coming back.  Toby is a strong, independent woman who has learned to live with her powers (strengths and weaknesses) and to depend on those around her when necessary.  Tybalt is…where to start?  He is my favorite UF male lead (aka alpha).  He supports Toby but, at the same time, lets her stand on her own when appropriate.  Toby’s relationships with her ‘kids’ including Quentin, Raj and Karen add another layer of complexity to her life.  May, Jazz, Walther, Arden…the list goes on.

I would love to spend an hour talking to McGuire about her plans for this series.  I suspect she knows the end game for Toby and while I’m very nervous about it (she deserves some semblance of an HEA), I know she is in good hands with McGuire.

5/5 stars.

One thought on “Review: Once Broken Faith (October Daye #10) by Seanan McGuire

  1. Pingback: December 2016 Month-In-Review | Lowcountry Book Lover

Leave a comment